Artist for the Tablet?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by poetdante, Jan 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. efraim siounis

efraim siounis Pen Pal - Newbie

Ive done my research but no Tablet PC website pimps the illustration aspect of a Tablet PC.

I am a professional illustrator that uses, Illustrator, Photoshop and especially Corel Painter. I need about 2 GHz and 1 Gig or Ram. I need to be durable, consider Id be taking it everywhere and 12.1+'' display. The rest is butterscotch.

I found a few models with this sort of options but my real question is, is a tablet PC good for illustrators? Which ones are (that fit the above criteria)?

Finally, any artists on the forums to pass up some reviews?
    I called WACOM and considered the Cintiqu but its about 4000 which is insane. They inform me that a TPC has 256 levels of pressure and no tilt functions. Where as a Cintiqu has 1024 levels and tilt functions and ra ra ra.

Do you guys notice a difrence?

Thank you.
    Efraim Siounis

2. Phil

Phil Pen Pal - Newbie

Hey efraim,

I'm just about byuing a tablet pc too and I'm a character animator, drawer etc...

I found out the motion computing LE 1600 to be the one with the most beautiful display and the lighter (3.3 lbs).
    I'm not so sure about the power you're asking for. Theis one has a 1.5 Ghz with 512 Mo ( extendable ) and it comes for 2199 bucks by default. It also have a very good autonomy, more than 3 hours with the regular battery, 8 hours !!! with the extended one.

Just check it out on the manufacturers website : www.motioncomputing.com

Hope it helps !

3. poetdante

poetdante Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

4. efraim siounis

efraim siounis Pen Pal - Newbie

i keep being refered to the http://tinyurl.com/cz4mj and something from motion computing. Though I dunno about motion computing.