Art and note-taking tablets with some other features

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by bupp, Mar 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bupp

bupp Pen Pal - Newbie

I've been looking at the HP tx1000, but I'm a tad iffy with the passive screen. And the t4215 has vista business.

This is what I'm looking for in a tablet pc and what I'd mostly be doing with it:

- I don't want to replace my desktop so I'd want it relatively light
    - I don't need a huge hard drive (customizable options are fine)
    - A built-in webcam would be cool (I know the tx1000 has this)
    - Is active better than passive for drawing? A friend I have uses a Wacom tablet for her drawing purposes.
    - Decently powerful and fast (2gb ram with Vista preferably since I have XP on my dektop)
    - However, the laptop would not be used for business purposes since I'm a college student so a version of Vista Home would be better. Maybe I'll just get Home and take off Business if it's on there
    - Battery is of no concern (I'm used to short spans since my cell phone is stupid)
    - 12.1 screen, but over 1024 resolution (I currently use 1650 on my desktop so that should give an idea)

This laptop will be just for carrying around to classes and drawing in my free time as well as just laying in bed talking to people and browsing sites before sleeping. Everything else I can do with my desktop like music, movies, WoW, etc.

Thanks! :)

2. P8RSON

P8RSON Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Most certainly.
    With an Active Digitizer you get one of two types ~ Wacom or Finepoint.

With Wacom, this will allow you to use your Tablet PC similar to a Wacom Tablet, in that you will have the benefit of using 'pressure sensitivity' on your Tablet PC.

With Finepoint, found with Gateway Tablet PC's. Although it utilizes an Active Digitizer, you will not however have the benefit of 'pressure sensitivity' as found with a Wacom Active Digitizer.

3. SimsHsia