Any drawbacks to SXGA+ display? (M400 vs. T4210)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ace Bullet, Jun 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ace Bullet

Ace Bullet Pen Pal - Newbie

I'm an artist trying to decide on a tablet PC, and it's down to either the Toshiba M400 or the new Fujitsu T4210. The deciding factor is whether I want an XGA or SXGA+ display. I would prefer SXGA+ because of the added screen real estate I'll need for an application like Maya.

But I want to know, are there any drawbacks to a 1400x1050 display, in areas such as sharpness, lag time, or viewing angle? Or is SXGA+ basically the same screen as XGA, but higher-res?

2. waltzzz

waltzzz Pen Pal - Newbie

I have a Toshiba M200 with SXGA+ and were I to upgrade I'd have the same dilemma as you.

Yes there are some drawbacks with the small fonts. Other than that I doubt if there are any. The pixles are hardly visible, the image is crisp and beautiful. Setting the machine to a lower resolution is possible but then there is fuzziness. LCDs like their native resolution.

I resolve the small font problem by zooming in MindManager, Firefox, Word etc. That works well as the menus stay small and what I work on is easily visible.

I also have a 17" additional monitor and a stand for the M200 (not available for other models as far as I know.) I'll post up a picture. Great to have dual screens.

I imagine that for graphical work the finer resolution would be great. However I think the Fujitsu sounds like the better machine in all ways except IMO for the XGA.

This is a scary thread:

http://www.tabletpcbuzz.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=33523&whichpage=1

3. waltzzz

waltzzz Pen Pal - Newbie

4. nossy

nossy Pen Pal - Newbie

I have the M400 with SXGA and I don't regret it. But you'll need to set the font's resolution to a higher DPI, unless you have very good eyes.

5. marbles

marbles Pen Pal - Newbie

Im a little confused on why an SXGA has smaller fonts than an XGA?