32GB vs 64GB How much memory is "Needed"

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by feeddagoat, Feb 3, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. feeddagoat

feeddagoat Pen Pal - Newbie

Hey everybody

I've saw a few discussions between people about 32GB vs 64GB storage on Windows 8 tablet. Currently only the 32GB is available on the tablet I want but I keep hesitating pulling the trigger on getting one based on those discussions. I have no experience with windows 8 or how much memory applications will take up so I'm asking the community what sort of programs and apps have you on mainly your atom based windows 8 tablet and how much storage do they take up? The main use of the tablet for me will be note taker, media consumption and reading code on the go. The apps I intend to install

Office and OneNote
    Notepad++
    PDF reader
    Netflix
    Steam
    Football Manager 2012
    Possibly some drawing program so I can learn how to draw.
    Some sort of RSS application

Will 32GB be a tight squeeze or would it still leave me with enough space for other programs and apps? I look forward to hearing your views and opinions.

2. WuBoy

WuBoy Scribbler - Standard Member

For the most part, if those are the only things you need you'll be fine. 32 GB isn't a lot, but you can download everything you named up there and have room to spare. You'll definitely need a micro SD card in case you want to store any media.

The one hiccup may be Steam. I forget, do you DL games or stream them using Steam. If it's the former, then you'll probably want the 64 because I can imagine games will fill that little space quick.

3. feeddagoat