13"+ hybrid w/digitizer pen?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by HFstudent, Nov 18, 2012.

1. HFstudent

HFstudent Pen Pal - Newbie

Short verison: grad student looking for a 13"+ hybrid suitable for note-taking (text, figures).

I listed the specs below in a shortened format for easy reading:

GENERAL
    Budget: Up to $1,800.
    New
    Form: Hybrid preferred (like the option to detach); convertible okay if it's the only option to match these specs.
    Size: 13"+
    Buying in the US
    3+ hours battery life
    Primary usage: note-taking (I'm a grad student); web surfing; streaming
    Software: Microsoft Office
    Stream to home theater: nice but not necessary.

SCREEN
    Required: pen with pressure sensitivity; no preference on WACOM/N-trig

COMPONENT SPECS
    Hard Drive: 300G+
    Memory: 4G+

ADDITIONAL INFO
    I've been researching on my own but have come up with nothing. I was very excited for the Asus TransformerBook, but then I found it had no digitzer...is it possible it would still be suitable for taking notes in whatever more primitive writing support it would offer with the touchscreen capability?

WAITING, OR SYNCING SLATE+LAPTOP?
    If nothing matches these specs, I've been wondering whether I should wait a year for new models, or possibly give up and buy a Slate with digitizer and a simple 14"/15" laptop, and then sync them regularly. Some tell me it would also be cheaper budget-wise. If any of you have advice on what combination would work for the slate+laptop option, and how I could painlessly sync both, I'd be happy to hear!

Thanks in advance.

2. Steve B

Steve B Moderator Moderator

My understanding is that

a) there are no 13" hybrids available, although there is the t902, which is a powerful new convertible