Fan won't shut off?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Pen Pal - Newbie

Default Fan won't shut off?

Hi eveyone, just got my ep121 from the microsoft store at the mall of america and it seems good with exception to the fan... the fan runs at full throttle from start up to shutdown, plugged in or unplugged, on any of the handfull of power management settings, and/or regardless of coming out of sleep or from a cold start. bottom line is that it is always on at high speed.

1) it is really the only thing that is giving me reason to return it as it is distracting in a conference room. it sounds like the air vents on a jet plane.

2) surely, this must affect the battery life?

Is mine a bad one or is this a design issue? thanks for your help.

Pen Pro - Senior Member

Default Re: Fan won't shut off?

Read the forum first...

DBA by trade.

I also bought from Microsoft Store and noticed that the fan was always on. I took it back and the second one is the same. Loud fan.

Love Tablet.

You got a unit with defective temp sensor..
    ASUS EP121-001A05M 64/4 Win7x64SP1 bios->modded704-Oct version

Pen Pal - Newbie

Thanks CF77 and cmergel... @kurt... I did read the forums first and there are a variety of answers depending on what someone did in response to the loud fan / non-stop fan issue.

I guess I was just trying to double confirm that some of you out there are blessed with a unit that operates with the fan speed at low idle or maybe even off during periods of idle use or on power saver mode or something... I would like to use this slate for work, but sitting in a conference room right now as it is might not work. Also, the fan seems to drown out the mic when a person is speaking... so the audio portion in One Note does not work well.